Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie so excuse the potential dumb questions. At what point does it become too windy to practice and just not be able to learn much? At what point do you not shoot because of the wind?

·
Registered
21,606 Posts
Only if the wind starts to roll you around the parking lot. If you can stand on the pad you can practice. Get the experience you WILL need to win.

·
Registered
1,628 Posts
I live on the Prairie. I can hardly remember a Trap shoot without at least a light breeze.
I think it would be described as a howling wind, with dust in your eyes before we quit.
We do pack it in, and watch from the clubhouse, during a thunderstorm.

·
Registered
501 Posts
If you’re a newbie and learning the sport I would say 15 mph maybe 20 max. This is if you are new and learning normal sight picture, trying to get consistent, and learn the game. Once you are getting better and trying to compete, wind is your friend because if you can shoot in it and your competition can’t... well that’s where you’ll stand out.

It’s like any sport though, if you are starting out, you want to get consistent and get the basics down well and that’s better with easier conditions. Once you can smash them pretty well on nice days, it’s time to head to the club on windy days and start increasing your skills. The fact is, you MUST be able to shoot in wind if you can’t you won’t be personally satisfied even if you only shoot for fun. Windy day shooting does really force you to watch the target and fine tune that ability.

·
Registered
547 Posts
You need to know how the wind effects the targets. Example; one year at the Grand there was a strong west wind. I knew before I walked to the line since the traps face north, that the left target would go high into the strong west wind.
Therefore, the right target would take a nose dive. Knowing this, I shot higher on the left target and lower on the right target.

·