Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 232 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to trap shooting and have seen a wide variety of opinions on purchasing a gun. I personally am a frugal individual who buys more on value than I do on brand name.

After months of research I ended up purchasing a Tristar TT-15 Sporting O/U because for the price point there really isn't anything like it (whether that is good or bad is to be determined, please keep your opinions on my gun selection to yourself)

When I was looking to purchase my research included trying other's guns to see what I like: I shot a Citori, an A400 Xcel, a BT-99, a TT-15 Sporting, a Silver Reserve II sporting, and a Fabarm Elos - funny thing is, the guy with the TT-15 also had the Fabarm (he teaches Trap at the local high school and if a student doesn't have a gun or their gun has a problem they use the TT-15.

I asked him why he had gone with a Tristar for the gun he uses with his athletes given the reputation, he said "Tristar has come a long way, and most wouldn't feel the difference Fabarm vs the Tristar to appreciate the difference any way.

So my question is: other than reliability (which will always be case by case), what are the reasons to move up in price brackets to more expensive guns?

Other than perceived value given by a certain brand, what are the perks that come with owning a $3,000+ dollar gun compared to a <$1,000 gun?

Thanks for your time.

·
Registered
1,701 Posts
Why spend a lot of money on a car? A VW will get you there but it's a matter of choice how you decide to get there. The old saying you get what you pay for holds very true in trap guns . If you are just going to travel occasionally the VW will work, same with a cheap trap gun. If you are going just shoot occasionally a cheap trap gun will work . Your choice.
Good Luck

·
Registered
192 Posts
Vanity!

·
What squad am I on?
Lots of different guns...
7,735 Posts
Confidence.
Security.
Trade value.