Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
661 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have a small "gun conundrum".
As I've posted elsewhere, I've been shooting my BT-99 for a couple of years now. It has a moneymaker adjustable rib as well as a Browning adjustable comb.

My other trap gun is a Gamba Edinburgh. I shoot the BT for its durability. I actually shoot the Gamba a little bit better, but its old, and when it breaks, you cannot get parts. Last time an ejector broke I had to have it micro-welded. I've been shooting a lot of ATA, and I don't want to drive two hours just to have my gun break. The BT is a bit barrel heavy. Still...I shoot it OK...I just shoot the Gamba better. It's lighter and a bit livelier barrel. So...my options...

1. Shut up and just learn to shoot the BT
2. Shoot the Gamba until it breaks and see what it takes to fix it
3. Buy a backup Edinburg (they are around and they don't cost much)
3. Find something else a bit more lively than the BT. Maybe a 725?

There are no wrong answers here...just interested in what others thought. Spending $4-10k on a new P, Z or K gun isn't in the cards. We just had our state shoot, so now is the time to make any switches or purchases!

Thanks All!
Trail

·
Banned
1,775 Posts
Give up on the Gamba (your assessment of it is correct) and find something else. Shooting the BT-99 is the other option. Interestingly, you state the BT-99 does not have swing dynamics that are lively enough for you, while many BT-99 shooters yearn for a SBT that swings a bit smoother. If you decide on the "find something else" route be certain to shoot it a bit to determine if it is the right gun for fit and swing characteristics. Good luck.

·
Registered
280 Posts
I would shoot the bt personally. You could add a Mercury recoil reducer to the stock to balance the weight. Usually trap guns are heavier for reduced recoil and smooth movement to the target.

·
What squad am I on?
Lots of different guns...
7,698 Posts