Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I THINK I may want to try making my own shot, but do not know brand names or where to purchase a machine. Any suggestions?

Thanks. John

·
Registered
170 Posts
I have no experience with other versions of shotmakers but I just got mine two weeks ago and I am making usable shot. Jim is great at answering questions as I probably called him 6 times over a year before I finally decided to get my own. As many on this site will attest to make sure you get your ingots correct, no babbitt or zinc. I would hate to think of how many hours I had looking at old threads on here and shotgunworld.com but it payed off.

Just make sure you have a reasonably good source for lead. I had enough ingots stockpiled to pay for about 2/3 of the machine before I purchased.

I personally think it is fun but there is alot to it. Sorting the wheel weights, smelting the ingots, building the stand for the shotmaker, Coolant system, washing the shot, sizing through a couple different screens, graphiting and finally shooting.

Todd

·
Registered
3,528 Posts
The Stewart machine is what I have and need to get set up. Todd, did you buy the drop tank from Mr Stewart? I didn't and wish I had. Jackie B.

·
Registered
1,967 Posts
Mr. Stewart as stated above. I have had mine three years and in fact run two at a time now. Jim is great with his help and honest as it comes. He has no secrets. I went to his house for about a half day before I bought one and he showed me everything he does.
As stated above, have a lead source, it's getting harder to find. If you go forward, I will be happy to help you in any way. As will several others who post here.