Trapshooters Forum banner

What wads for new Federal top gun hulls?

10976 35
I am just getting into reloading shot gun. I have been reloading metallic for years. I picked up a Mec 9000G. My question is the newer Federal Top Gun hulls have the white plastic bases. What wads work best for a 1 1/8 Oz load? I'm using those hulls for now as I have a bunch of shells because that's really all I can find around here right now. Do I use the same wad as with the paper base? CB2118? Or something different. THANKS IN ADVANCE.
Reactions: 4th. down
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

· Registered
36,815 Posts
I use CB2100-12`s in the plastic base wad Top Guns and Estates .
KS-OKIE’s post is more precise as the one he suggests is a clone of the Federal wad.

The ones I suggested are more general, but recommended too.

Reactions: MRS. KS-OKIE

· Premium Member
3,704 Posts
MadDipper, you might need the 1oz was for the newer plastic basewad hulls.
That will depend on what powder you are going to use.
The bulkier powders might work with the ‘proper’ wad. Any dense powder will need the taller 1oz was to keep the stack height up so you don’t get dished crimps.

I learned all that the hard way but never completely Understood what was going on until I read about it from the guys here.

· Premium Member
5,256 Posts
I was thinking the cb2118-12 for the first round and see how it goes. 1 1/8 Oz load that seems to be what they have listed.
I normally load CB2118-12`s in Gold Medal plastics & papers and Estates & Top Guns with the fiber base wad for 11/8 loads . The plastic base wad is shorter than the fiber one thus you will have dished crimps . The CB2100-12 fixed that problem for me and my crimps are as good or better than factory out of a Spolar loader .

· Registered
987 Posts