Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I was looking into buying a trap machine just for personal use was looking at the champion wheelybird 2.0, Champion easybird, Atlas Patriot, and Atlas AT-50. Anyone have insight on any of these or another brand I should look at I have very little experience on anything other then my clubs trap machine. Any experience or suggestions would be appreciated thanks!

·
Registered
2,112 Posts
Our club has several Atlas Traps that we use for 5 stand and when I was taking care of them, the only thing I had to do was replace the main spring every few years. Great company to work with, Made in Wichita, Ks. BUT if you can afford a used Pat Trap, that would be the Cays Meow! Atlas does have some sales now and then, I would call the factory and ask. Stay well

·
Registered
975 Posts
I have an Atlas AT-50. It has held up well. Atlas traps have been more trouble free than the promatics we use for our youth practices.

Reactions: loper30030x

·
Registered
616 Posts
I just bought a Wheelybird 2.0 and love it! Throws a very nice target. It does not oscillate, but will be more than adequate for backyard practice. I did not like the foot pedal switch. Awkward to use, and too short to allow you to stand 16 yards back. In fairness, I only tried it for 25 targets. That was enough for me. Don’t like it.

The included wireless remote works very well. I did not utilize the delay feature, as there were 3 of us shooting so one called for the other two. With the delay, it would work well when shooting alone.

It is pretty robust in its construction. It should last.

If you are just looking for backyard practice to supplement shooting at the club...it is perfect. If you want a true backyard trap set up then you will need something different.

In my opinion, it is a great value for backyard practice.

·
Registered
31 Posts