Trapshooters Forum banner

What does a youth shooting director do at your club?

617 6
I have been an assistant coach of a youth team in my community for a few years. We have about 30-40 kids a year and practice at a friend's house. He has a 16 yard field and we practice every weekend from February through June as part of the Arkansas Youth Shooting Sports Program.
I have been asked if I would be interested in taking the youth shooting director position at a club where I am a member. I got the description of the job from the guy who currently holds the position but was curious what that position involves in other clubs around the country. Our main goal will be growing the sport by getting the word out that our club exists. We are the only trap club in an area with 500k people.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
230 Posts
Is this a paid or volunteer position.

if it is a volunteer position, like most volunteer positions it will be what you decide to make it and my advice is not to let it interfere with your family life/job (from a former Scoutmaster who didn't realize it until after the fact)

What job description did he give you?

One of my clubs had a "youth" director, basically he enjoyed working with kids and was the guy who volunteered for it, he would run monthly saturday event, 22's in the morning for 2-3 hours and then shotgun in the afternoon as a way for members to expose their kids with others in a safe environment. It died out a few years back and no one has bothered to take it over.

the biggest thing I've seen with Scouts and my daughter's high school team is providing guns/ammo for the first time or two, for that initial experience for kids and parents to see guns aren't evil and can be quite enjoyable, I wouldn't hesitate to charge them the going rate but making it available is a big help and hurdle especially for non-shooting parents.

· Registered
1,122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Is this a paid or volunteer position.