Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 99 Posts

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm just beginning to reload....actually looking for my first progressive shotgun press, but what's the difference between cheaper hulls, like the inexpensive Federal loads I'm shooting and so Winchester AA Hulls?

Do they just last longer or does it somehow alter the shooting characteristics of the shot?

·
Registered
124 Posts
CHEAPER SHELLS THIN WALLS AND 3 PIECE CONSTRUCTION( TUBE ...SEPARATE BASE INSERT...AND METAL BASE . .INSPECT THE BASE INSERT TO MAKE SURE IT HAS NOR MOVED FORWARD. IF MOVES FORWARD PRIMER PRESSURE CAN MOVE THE BASE AND IT WINDS UP IN BARREL. ..ONLY RELOAD A FEW TIMES...NEW AA BETTER CONSTRUCTION RELOAD MORE TIMES. ..OLD AA TYPE AND REM GUN CLUBS..COMPRESSION FORMED..2 PIECE.. (SINGLE PIECE HULL AND THE METAL BÀSE. RELOAD UP TO 5 TO 10 TIMES...ALSO IF YOU PICK UP HULLS AT RANGE ...INVEST IN RESIZER...MY LOADER A MEC DOES IT WHEN I DEPRIME..PREVENTS TIGHT FITTING SHELLS......GOOD LUCK...BEST HOBBY I EVER GOT INTO.....

·
Registered
11,552 Posts
Hi,

I'm just beginning to reload....actually looking for my first progressive shotgun press, but what's the difference between cheaper hulls, like the inexpensive Federal loads I'm shooting and so Winchester AA Hulls?

Do they just last longer or does it somehow alter the shooting characteristics of the shot?
Hi Doc,

Mostly, they are thin walled, have steel bases (not brass), and they don't crimp as well or last as long. One or two reloads and toss. (You can get 10 or 12 reloads out of the better hulls.)

Some of the cheap ones have fiber basewads, which in and of itself is not a big deal, but they don't last as long as plastic.

There isn't as much reloading data available for them.

A lot of this info is discussed in the Lyman Reloading manual I recommended.

Reactions: DocWong and mg1polo

·
Registered
124 Posts