Trapshooters Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This term shows up occasionally when someone has an off sounding report when they fire at a target.

I've been loading for over 45 years and as far as I know I have never had a cocked wad.

What causes them and why do some people seem to get them? Is it their loader or their technique?

I'm just curious. Thanks for you replies.

·
Premium Member
6,557 Posts
It might be something other than the loader or the technique. It could be the wad. Or, it could be someone claiming some problem was caused by a cocked wad when in reality they have no idea what cause their problem, just theorizing. It may be there is no such thing.

·
Registered
843 Posts
I've been loading for over 45 years and as far as I know I have never had a cocked wad.
What causes them and why do some people seem to get them? Is it their loader or their technique?
I've identified more cocked wads in factory ammunition than I have in my own, which, considering how fast factory shells run through their machinery, isn't surprising. The few I've created have been the result of worn out wad fingers.

·
Registered
1,851 Posts
I very rarely have it happen on the 12 or 20 gauge shells, I occasionally have it happen on the 28 gauge. Don't know if the wads are more delicate the smaller the get or not.

·
Premium Member
1,221 Posts
I used to get them quite frequent when loading Federal paper hulls. The mouth of the hull was just not opened up enough to keep the wad from catching. Happened even after replacing the wad guide. I made a sleeve for the primer punch to open up the end of the hulls a little more and the problem want away. Regards, Bob
Lip gloss Material property Plastic
Auto part Machine

·
Registered
8,464 Posts