Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
217 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In a nut shell, I bought a new gun and broke my clavicle.

Actually, there's a little more to it. I've been shooting for about 18 months now (regularly). Until recently, I'd been shooting a BT-99.

Got my Caesar Guerini, put 400 or so rounds through it when someone suggested (like a dope I listened) that I mount the gun higher up on my shoulder. I'd been struggling with inconsistent shooting at that point and was open to suggestion. With the BT-99, I was a pretty consistent low 90s singles shooter. Shooting with the unsingle CG, I was lucky to hit 15/17.

I left that day feeling pretty beat up (painful shoulder) and very, very disappointed with my shooting. Not one to end on a bad note, I went back out the following day. I put a recoil pad into my shooting vest, told myself to forget about all the advice I'd been given the following day, mount my gun as I always had and just shoot like I used to. I shot a 95 despite the shoulder pain.

Fast forward a week to this past Sunday. Took the gun out again. Shot 100 rounds before quitting. Just too much shoulder discomfort. To appease my husband (he takes better care of me than I do), I went to the doctor yesterday. X-rays confirmed I broke it. Not a hairline, a full-on break. At least it is not displaced and no surgery will be required.

I'm only mad now because I won't be able to shoot my gun now for at least six weeks!!

Anyway, as you can imagine, I am looking into recoil devices. I actually was before this happened. This little "incident" has solidified my decision.