Trapshooters Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

· Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I’m new to trap shooting and stumbled into a remington 1187 premier trap with the 30” barrel market target. For cheap. Problem is the rib was bent, and I let a “friend” try and fix it but it seems all he did was break the rib from the barrel in one spot.... so can anyone suggest someone that can replace or repair this rib for me? Any local smith I spoke with ran away from this job.
thanks

· Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Thanks guys, the break is a rib or two from the chamber end of the gun, also he didn’t get it straight. Some have suggested cleaning it real well clamping it and heating it up it may re solder ..... my Luck the whole thing will come off😳! As for an estimate? Cant get anyone local to to even look it it let alone give an estimate. One smith suggested sending it back to remington but they won’t even take calls it just goes into a voice message loop. Maybe someday. And at what value would a replacement barrel start to look good? I’ve been looking at auction sites and have found a couple used ones that start around 500.00

· Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
Thanks I’ll give Phillip a call, I saw that barrel on eBay but it’s not marked “target” so I was thinking it wasn’t back bored?!? It’s my understanding that the target barrels were back bored .... or do I have it wring?

· Registered
344 Posts
My barrel is factory and says target with stars either side of the Target The bore is overbored as Aus says and measures about .750 inches before the choke. The 1100 trap barrels I have have a deflection stud on the receiver extension a factory middle bead and some have a step rib And Bradley sight.

· Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #18 ·