Trapshooters Forum banner

UPS Delivery Today...my new Spolar!

3464 Views 38 Replies 23 Participants Last post by  Trooper25
Arrived home today to see my new Spolar and hydraulic unit sitting on my front porch! Like a kid in a candy store I unpacked, mounted and assembled. No hydraulic fluid for the pump so have to go get that, but she is ready to rock manually. Which I plan to load a few hundred without the hydraulic anyway to learn the machine. I have been loading for several years on an RCBS Grand. Probably will put her up for sale once I get the hang of the new toy.

If any of you went from the Grand to a Spolar, is there anything I should watch out for while running? I assume the non case activated powder and shot dispensing is a learning curve.
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

· Registered
232 Posts
Maybe a couple thousand to get the feel of the machine... Your call of course. I am assuming this is a 12 gauge. 12 gauge is super easy on the machine. Make sure the dies are lubed as they recommend. Get in the habit of always and I mean always watching the primer drop. One flaw in the machine is if you miss the primer and drop the powder it can drop the powder into primer the track. You may need to remove all of the primers and clean the track. My area is a tad dark and I keep a small light shined on the primer cup so I can see that the primer is in the proper location on the down stroke. I also keep some primers handy and some long needle nose pliers.

On the back left side of the machine there is a lever and it will allow you to raise or lower the machine without advancing the shells. This can help you.

Try using 7.5 shot at first. If you spill shot, 7.5 is big enough that it does not get caught in the machine.

Good luck and this thread is almost useless without pictures (j.k).

· Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·