Trying to Avoid Drilling Ports on Beretta 302 Magnum | Trap Shooters Forum

Trying to Avoid Drilling Ports on Beretta 302 Magnum

Discussion in 'Gunsmithing' started by EEB, Jul 28, 2020 at 6:06 AM.

  1. EEB

    EEB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    629
    I’ve never had an older Beretta 3” magnum, but I understand the gas ports require enlarging for The use of target rounds. Thinking about buying a nice 3” 302 But I’d rather not alter the gas ports. Could a lighter recoil spring be installed or a couple coils trimmed from the existing spring? Also it seems that if the gun is kept clean it should eject 3 dr equivalent loads. I shoot a lot of the 1 oz 1,290 Estates. Please share your experiences. Thanks. Ed
     
  2. P3AT

    P3AT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    1,866
    Location:
    MICHIGAN
    Try your target loads, they may work. If not, get a different barrel.

    Pat
     
    mg1polo, EEB and beaker100 thanked this.
  3. cleboje

    cleboje Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    112
    As another poster has mentioned, test your favorite load to see if it cycles reliably...

    However if your favorite load does not cycle the action, then you have a decision to make...

    If you bought the 302 for hunting, then keep the gas port as is...but if you bought the gun for target shooting, then drill the port and grind some clays...

    and if you ever sell the gun after altering the gas port, let the buyer know up front so he can decide if he needs an altered gun.
     
  4. Carl Brown

    Carl Brown Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    154
    As stated try your load and see if it cycles. You can search and try to find a 2 3/4 barrel but they are rare as hens teeth. Good luck.
     
  5. slickhead

    slickhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    1,351
    Location:
    West Tenn.
    Try taking a index drill bit set and run thru the gas Port holes. By hand!
    You will be surprised how much crud that you will get out just by cleaning the ports.
     
    WesleyB thanked this.
  6. EEB

    EEB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    629
    I use pipe cleaners on the ports on my 303
     
  7. WesleyB

    WesleyB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,182
    when you get your new shotgun,....... disassemble and clean thoroughly. Like said above.... all the nooks and crannies need to be cleaned. Lube the action and then shoot your loads... I bet it cycles just fine.
     
  8. SteveS1965

    SteveS1965 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2016
    Messages:
    2,926
    buy a gun that is made to shoot trap loads and you won't have to drill any holes in the magnum barrel
     
  9. lightning20ga

    lightning20ga Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    850
    i hav a like newA400 shoots all loads
     
  10. forrestmohrman

    forrestmohrman Banned User Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2017
    Messages:
    49
    If they need enlarging a tool and die shop could do this for you.