Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’ve been shooting for about 4 years on a youth team and have gotten decent scores averaging 22-23’s but this year I can’t seem to shoot very well at all with an average of about 19. I’ve been missing birds every where from infront (mostly in front), behind and some I felt and seemed right on. All the birds that I do hit are turned into near dust balls. I don’t know whats going on. I just feel really inconsistent on my ability to break birds. Could it be swing? Bad fitting gun since I’ve grown? Bad gun mounting? Bad focusing?

·
Premium Member
Brownings
637 Posts
I’ve been shooting for about 4 years on a youth team and have gotten decent scores averaging 22-23’s but this year I can’t seem to shoot very well at all with an average of about 19. I’ve been missing birds every where from infront (mostly in front), behind and some I felt and seemed right on. All the birds that I do hit are turned into near dust balls. I don’t know whats going on. I just feel really inconsistent on my ability to break birds. Could it be swing? Bad fitting gun since I’ve grown? Bad gun mounting? Bad focusing?
I am having problems due to a cataract forming in my right eye. Your issues do sound like eye problems, even at your age.

·
Registered
187 Posts
Could be cross eye dominance or even your dominant eye has changed. I knew a high school shooter that had their dominant eye change from right to left. Same sort of shooting problems you describe and couldn’t figure out why.

·
Registered
Perazzi MX10 RS
95 Posts
Keep practicing, that’s the best way to beat a slump. Make sure you have consistent gun mount. If you’ve grown a lot, and the gun is too short, that could be contributing to inconsistent mounting. So, maybe some spacers are needed. Most importantly, be confident and anticipate smoke balling every target you call for. Trying not to miss is the best way to drop one. Good luck and keep at it!