Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been shooting a Browning Citori Field grade for trap for the past 6 years. I've put up some good scores, but it's time for a change. I'm interested in both the XT and 725 in trap combos. I also like the CG Summit and Magnus trap combos. Are there any other guns that I should look closely into?
Thanks

·
Administrator
8,662 Posts
I understand everyone operates on a different budjet so really befor laying down your hard earned money if you can try befor you buy.A lot of times the old throw up to the shoulder and check it goes ok till you get it to the range and then find out there are things you really do not like or wish that it had.If you are at your local club and there a members there that have a shotgun model that you are interested in buying talk to them and find out first hand what others have experienced.If someone is nice enough to let you try thiers buy them a round of trap or a box of shells ect. to show appreciation :) I have owned and shot all the models you mention, the 725 Trap from Guns Unlimited in the Gracoil equipped model in the combo as you cannot purchase the single bl. from Browning.THe CG Summit and Magnus are the same except for cosmetics and are a nice trap gun but carry a taller rib than the 725 and the trigger system is different.I have shot my dads 725 combo a lot and feel it is a good value for the money, I know you hear stories about Browning customer service ect. but most competent gunsmiths should be able to service a 725 no problem.CG has fantastic customer service but is located in Maryland so there is more shipping involved if you have to send it back. I shoot a Perazzi and really like the platform and a MX-2000 combo would be really nice depending on your budjet. HOpe this helps George

·
Registered
1,837 Posts