Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,648 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

The factory Browning single-shot BT has been made in several variations over the years.

BT-99

BT-99 Plus

BT-99AR

BT-99 "High Shooters"

BT-99 Youth Model

BT-99 with Gracoil

BT-100

etc.

Would someone be so kind as to enumerate all of them and give a brief explanation of their distinctions ?

·
Registered
1,173 Posts
I'll try, but I am not an expert. I would suggest you contact Browning or one of the highly esteemed Browning gunsmiths with specific questions.

1.) The basic BT-99 was an affordable single barrel trap gun that became very popular very quickly. You could get it in several different fixed chokes, in 30 or 32 inch barrel length, (later 34" was added,) with regular or Monte Carlo stock. Later on, the newer BT-99s were offered with choke tubes.

2.) The BT-99 Plus came with a built in recoil reducer and an adjustable rib. I think the adjustable comb and buttplate were also standard on this model.

3.)The BT-99 AR was built for a specific retailer and came with an adjustable rib.

4.) The original BT-99s were reputed to shoot at about 60/40 and many shooters who liked the gun requested that Browning make a gun that shot higher, so Browning responded with a gun that shot considerably higher. These guns can be easily picked out because they had distinct letters in the serial numbers.

5.) The youth model has a cut down stock to fit youngsters and smaller lady shooters.

6.) As far as I know, Gracoil has always had to be added after market. I could be wrong about this, but The Graco company is an entirely different entity than Browning Arms and the two have never collaborated on a new gun.