Trapshooters Forum banner

Spolar Gold - tricks?

3623 Views 33 Replies 9 Participants Last post by  Sims58
after reading much here and other places moving from Mecs to the SG.

i have the bottles from Mr Skeel that are very nice.

Any other things I should have on hand as spares as I learn it, or tricks?

I have watched the videos, seems l8ke a Cadillac setup. Just wanted to ask. Thank you.
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

· Registered
567 Posts
If you don't already have it, order the spare parts kit; comes with the commonly needed parts & lubes. The manual is easier for quick reference, instead of fast forwarding or reversing to find a topic. They made a change in their recommendation for dry lube on the charge bar - the video shows it applied to the entire bar, now they say just by the powder bushing. Too much dry lube was causing the bar to jam.

· Registered
2,394 Posts
I am new to the Spolar too. Go slow and watch what happens as you pull the handle up and down. Make sure you cycle it fully in both directions so you don't double charge something. I have hydros on mine but loaded a good bunch by hand before trying the hydros. Things move fast with the hydros. Watch the primer that it isn't tipped just before it is going to be seated. They have a new primer cup that supposed to take care of that which I have on order.

They are certainly well built. I have yet to determine if I am going to keep this one or stay with my Mec 9000 machines running with an automate. Need to load a few thousand rounds with this one before I sell something that works for me very well.

· Registered
76 Posts