Simulator ? Good or bad? For the kids | Trap Shooters Forum

Simulator ? Good or bad? For the kids

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Franksoutdoors, Mar 7, 2020.

1. Franksoutdoors

Franksoutdoors TS Member

Just wondering people's thoughts on simulators for new kid shooters. I'm a high school coach in Minnesota and I think it would be great to get kids shooting in the winter to get them ready for short season. Please let me know what you think.
    Thanks

2. waverider

waverider Well-Known Member

For me playing on a computer trapshooting simulator was not good.
    Apparently I see different leads on hard rights and lefts. I need to clear the target on rights and shoot at the lefts. Most likely I swing to the left faster.
    The simulator had the proper lead the same for rights and lefts. I got my first 100 straight on the simulator but messed up my real shooting.

But then it may just be me. Have them try it during the winter. But when summer comes and they actually shoot be aware if they are missing any angled bird consistently that they may be like me.

Jason

Candy B thanked this.
  3. slide action

slide action Well-Known Member

It might help some but IMO there is no substitute for actually swing on, and firing at, a live target .

Mr. Pump Gun and entropy thanked this.
  4. entropy

entropy Well-Known Member Verified Youth Coach/Director

It might be a good training aid for those who have never shot before-picking up the idea of leading a bird would be less expensive with lasers, but as slide action said, nothing is as good as doing it IRL.

slide action thanked this.
  5. Cubdriver

Cubdriver Active Member Verified Youth Coach/Director

Very true, but when you live in northern mn knee deep snow and negative 20 degrees doesn't allow year round shooting unless you fly to a warmer climate.