Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
218 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to Trap shooting and haven shot for 45 years ,a few years back I lost my right eye and was a right handed shooter now shooting left handed.I don't know is missing in my sight picture now .has anyone ever put a patch over non shooting eye to see if your sight picture changes because I am having one hell of a time hitting the bird and don't know why

·
Registered
1,703 Posts
Phil Kiner has a great video about eye issues. It’s worth a look. It’s an uphill battle to switch from right to left shooting. I’m glad you are shooting. Stay with it, you’ll get better
John

·
Registered
3,604 Posts
I am new to Trap shooting and haven shot for 45 years ,a few years back I lost my right eye and was a right handed shooter now shooting left handed.I don't know is missing in my sight picture now .has anyone ever put a patch over non shooting eye to see if your sight picture changes because I am having one hell of a time hitting the bird and don't know why
You lost your right eye, You haven't shot in 45 years.
You are trying to learn to shoot from your Left shoulder using your left eye.

Why would you need to cover the right eye if its gone?
If you still have the eye but vision is greatly diminished I would close it.
Or put in a black lense to block the eye.

Learning to shoot from the opposite shoulder is a big challenge.
Take your time, start with straight away targets and increase the difficulty as you get used to the set up.

You could also try an offset rib but it also comes with its own challenges.
I hope you persevere.

Its All Good

West

·
Registered
254 Posts