Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
4,963 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Considering a sig sauer ,kimber or springfield 1911 45. Anyone have some useful info on these guns. Likes and dislikes? Will use it to target shoot or maybe carry if I get bord carrying the Glock 23 in 40 cal. I'm considering a 4 inch.

·
Premium Member
12,271 Posts
As I've stated on your other post I am a big fan of the SIGs - don't think you'll ever go wrong there.

Springfield is 'up and coming' - I think they are finally doing justice to the pistol - the more I see them the more I like them.

As I also mentioned - look at the 'E' series by S&W.

I've become less and less a fan of Kimber. Originally these were as good as it got, but of late I just don't see the quality nor attention paid as one saw in their earlier guns. Kind of reminds me of the Datsun 'Z' cars - the early 240/260 were real road cars - what they make now - not.

·
Registered
4,153 Posts
I have no experience with any you mention in 4"; however, I do have a 5" Sig Tacops 1911 that came through the custom shop and was gunsmith fit. I like it very much and think it well worth the money. If you get a Sig, don't even consider the new "Traditional" 1911s. The slide to frame fit, etc. on those are terrible. Their standard 1911s, those with the slide shaped to look like a Sig slide are still good.

Forget about Kimbers unless you are willing to spend a lot of money. Even then, you could have a custom gun made for what you pay.

I don't own a Springfield, but several at the club just bough them. Their lower line stuff does not impress me, but their tricked out higher end does. Good fit, good feel and accurate.

·
Registered
2,215 Posts
I just bought a Sig 1911 ultra limited. I will never buy another Kimber after shooting the Sig. May sell my kimbers and buy more sig ultras. SWEET !!!!!!

·
Registered
6,222 Posts