Trapshooters Forum banner

Shotgun Shell Blew out causing my gun to break

8455 Views 58 Replies 27 Participants Last post by  Nebs
Hi All...
I have been reloading for the past 15 years and never ran into this issue. a week ago i was shooting trap with my benelli montefeltro super 90. On the 4 shot i noticed my gun kick me more than usual, which i thought was odd. As i turned the gun over i noticed that the action was closed and jammed. I tried taking the forearm off and taking the barrel off but it wouldn't budge. well i took the gun home and it rook me about 4 hours to slowly open the action.

i found the shot shell had blown out from the bottom and it broke off a fin on the rotating bolt. The barrel at the chamber also has a small tiny bulge. the barrel will not fit into the receiver.

i used a remington gun club hull with 17.3 gains of hodgon clays, win 209 primers, 1 oz of shot
and windjammer wads. i have been using this hodgon load for years without issues an occasional popper load.
I always weight my lead before reloading and also in between.

im always within +- .3 grams of powder, the shot will vary depending what shot i'm using some shot is heavier than others
the shot could vary about 20 grains depending how much antimony.

any ideas
1 - 20 of 59 Posts

· Registered
15,222 Posts
On the 4 shot i noticed my gun kick me more than usual
i found the shot shell had blown out from the bottom and it broke off a fin on the rotating bolt. The barrel at the chamber also has a small tiny bulge.
Classic signs of an overloaded shell. Probably a double charge if I had to guess.

i used a remington gun club hull with 17.3 gains of hodgon clays, win 209 primers, 1 oz of shot
and windjammer wads.
I'm surprised a load this light will even operate a Benelli (5500 PSI, 1125FPS)

im always within +- .3 grams of powder
I assume you mean grains, since .3 grams would be 4.6 grains.

· Registered
4,109 Posts
Hi All...