Votes: 29 58.0%
  • 7 1/2

Votes: 19 38.0%
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm sorry folks, I'm sure this topic has been covered to death, but I couldn't find a definitive answer with the search feature, or through Google.

I'm a new shooter. I started shooting in March. The club I started shooting at was selling Winchester Super Target 1 1/8 oz #9 shot pretty cheap, so that's what I started with. When I started reloading, I bought #9 shot because that's what I was using for both trap and skeet.

This summer, I got a deal on 9 bags of #8 shot, so I switched to that for my reloads, and I didn't really notice a big difference in my scores, or in the way the targets broke. If I hit the target dead on it shatters, if I'm close it breaks, and if I miss, the target doesn't break. It's the same with 8's or 9's.

Recently, I was shooting with a co-worker, and I was told, "it's common knowledge that you can't break a trap target with #9 shot." I loaded up a flat of 3/4 oz #9 with 15 Gr of Extra Lite. It was a bit faster than the 1 oz loads I usually use, but I still got 23's and 24's, and so did a few of the guys I usually shoot with.

So what's the deal? I've tried 7 1/2 Remington Sport loads, but I really haven't seen a huge difference. Is there a general rule of thumb for when to use different sized shot? (I've heard that you have to use 7 1/2 in the winter, but no reason why)

I'm hoping to find some basic rule of thumb like:
Use #9 when shooting singles, because there's a higher density of pellets at close range.
Use #8 in the wind, because they resist drift...
Use #7 1/2 to break more targets... As foretold in the prophecy !

What do you use, and why?

·
Registered
1,048 Posts
If you're shooting skeet and 16 yard trap just shoot 8's. If you were shooting the 410 in competition or 27 yard handicap in winter you should probably tailor your loads but for a casual shooter KISS principle applies.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·