Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
245 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just started shooting ATA shoots last year. I usually shoot all events 16, handicap, and doubles. I’m not competitive at doubles, but I figure it is good practice since we don’t shoot them every week at the local club. I noticed that a lot of people don’t shoot doubles or handicap for that matter. Is there a reason that a lot of people don’t participate in other events besides 16y?

·
Registered
486 Posts
Time, money, and stamina are big ones around here. For some 200 singles on a hot summer day is more then their body can handle. For me Sometimes I only have time for singles or even the first 100 in a 200 target event so I can get home for other family commitments. I know many that only shoot 200 singles per year.

·
Thorn in your side
8,115 Posts
When I first started 7 years ago, I only shot 16's and targets only to establish an average. After a while of doing that I started shooting caps, but no doubles. Eventually I jumped in and started shooting dubs also. Then I would shoot every target thrown at every shoot I attended. Did that for quite a while. Now I am a little more selective depending on the weather, or how I am feeling that day. I don't like extreme heat so if it is going to be really hot, I might shoot the 16's in the morning, then skip the caps and finish with the doubles, or maybe just the 16's and call it a day and drink beer and watch my friends shoot.

It is all a matter of personal preference and as mj said, stamina. many of the older guys I shoot with don't like, or just plain can't do 300 a day and I get that and am pretty much there myself, although I am not all that old. I feel I do better if I limit myself to 200 a day.

·
Registered
1,843 Posts
200 targets is a good days shoot for me, usually it's 100 16's then choose between another 100 handicap or 50 pair of doubles.