Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,265 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently read the names of the 2020 Olympic Trap Team and wonder how they are selected.

No, I'm not a Newbie trying to build my number of posts and I honestly don't think I'm being a Troll. I want to find out how the selections are made and if any of the top ATA shooters have a chance to represent the USA in the sport.

I located information about USA Shooting.org and their qualifying events last week in Arizona. I skimmed through the site and didn't notice any affiliation with ATA. There is mention, though, that any shooter can qualify if they're a member of USA Shooting.

Do ATA shooters participate with USA Shooting or "never do the twain meet?"

·
Premium Member
8,269 Posts
I recently read the names of the 2020 Olympic Trap Team and wonder how they are selected.

No, I'm not a Newbie trying to build my number of posts and I honestly don't think I'm being a Troll. I want to find out how the selections are made and if any of the top ATA shooters have a chance to represent the USA in the sport.

I located information about USA Shooting.org and their qualifying events last week in Arizona. I skimmed through the site and didn't notice any affiliation with ATA. There is mention, though, that any shooter can qualify if they're a member of USA Shooting.

Olympic Trap is not remotely close to ATA Trap. They both shoot at a clay target, but the game is entirely different.
MG

·
Registered
1,841 Posts
Olympic trap are a much faster and harder bird. They are thrown at wider angles, higher and lower . 2 shots allowed per bird also .
We had a young lady at are club that made the Olympic on her second try , we have several that go to Colorado and try . Best way I can describe it is wobble trap on steroids.
We had a bunker to throw practice birds. But most cannot afford the constant practice required to be competitive.

·
Registered
274 Posts