Screw in fuse T and TL difference | Trap Shooters Forum

Screw in fuse T and TL difference

Discussion in 'Off Topic Threads' started by Steve12, Aug 2, 2020 at 1:09 AM.

  1. Steve12

    Steve12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    3,207
    Location:
    Bakersfield
  2. JACK

    JACK Well-Known Member Supporting Vendor

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Messages:
    18,890
    Location:
    NW Wisconsin
    All that's left is that a TL is a medium duty time delayed fuse, while the type T is a heavier duty version with a longer overload delay. If you are running a motor, or other device with a large initial surge, then the type T fuse will be less likely to blow on start-up than the TL.Jun 16, 2013
     
    9manfan and H M thanked this.
  3. 320090T

    320090T Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    3,972
    Location:
    Indiana
    Gosh, what are those round things!
     
    WesleyB thanked this.
  4. HSLDS

    HSLDS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    11,647
    Location:
    S-E PA
    Yeah, but that looks like it is a 220V box...

    Looks like they put in the 25Amp fuses they had on hand.

    Odd fuse size too - wire sizes give:

    14 gauge = 15 Amp
    12 gauge = 20 Amp
    10 gauge = 30 Amp

    I'd verify the wire gauge for the service. Also verify current requirement for whatever that feeds.

    ----

    Scary thought is that is 12 gauge wire, and the serviced unit was blowing fuses so someone installed larger Amperage fuses without beefing up the wire feed...
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2020 at 7:11 AM
  5. slickhead

    slickhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    1,351
    Location:
    West Tenn.
    Why not just change that old fuse disconnect and put you in a 2 pole breaker type in? Can get one at Home Depot or Lowe's cheap and buy a 25 amp double pole breaker.
    Your worries are over
     
    BMWBOB thanked this.
  6. HSLDS

    HSLDS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    11,647
    Location:
    S-E PA
    If it is just a service disconnect for an AC unit/hot water heater/trap machine/etc. I see no reason to change it out. The issue is the wire size, it should really be 10 gauge to support a 25 Amp fuse/breaker.

    I would suspect that where it comes off the main panel it is likely controlled with breakers - this remote box is used for service only. I could be wrong, but the box/wiring look new enough that I think I am correct. I presume this is in CA and I have no idea of the wiring requirements they have there (I wasn't even sure they still had power out there).
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2020 at 9:15 AM
    BMWBOB and grntitan thanked this.
  7. Steve12

    Steve12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    3,207
    Location:
    Bakersfield
    These are in 8 trap houses
    Were installed in the 80s
    Only two missing
    Steve
    Lol
    If it ain’t broke don’t fix it
     
    Leo and HSLDS thanked this.
  8. Pull & Mark

    Pull & Mark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    9,799
    I don't know! But it looks like Tron Made Them? I wonder if Kitty had anything to do with them? break em all jeff
     
  9. rapid86

    rapid86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    10,149
    If you will look closely at the bottom of the fuses you will see Tron's name on them. There can be no doubt.
     
    BMWBOB thanked this.
  10. Pull & Mark

    Pull & Mark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    9,799
    Now I suppose your going to try and tell me Kitty does not do all of Trons Adjustable Butt Plates Next!!! LOL. break em all Jeff
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2020 at 1:03 PM
    rapid86 thanked this.
  11. grntitan

    grntitan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    21,561
    Location:
    IL(The gun friendly Southern Part)
    The problem is as HSLDS points out is the potential undersized wire. If it is indeed 12ga wire, and it draws down 25 amps for a sustained period, you have yourself a heating element the length of the wire. Many a building have burned from over amped wires.
     
  12. HSLDS

    HSLDS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    11,647
    Location:
    S-E PA

    Off the top of my head I can't think of a trap machine that runs on 220V??
     
  13. Recoil Sissy

    Recoil Sissy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    4,320
  14. DuckNut

    DuckNut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    6,626
    Looks like you need to take a screwdriver and clean out the cobwebs ;)
     
  15. Dewey Cox

    Dewey Cox Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2018
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Alberta
    Just wrap them in tinfoil, and don't worry about them again
     
  16. grntitan

    grntitan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    21,561
    Location:
    IL(The gun friendly Southern Part)
    Nah, an old copper penny.
     
    BDOG22 thanked this.
  17. HSLDS

    HSLDS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    11,647
    Location:
    S-E PA
    Thought about this overnight...

    I'd verify the wire size - if it is 12 gauge I'd go get some fuses rated at 20 Amps and try them.

    Might be that whoever worked on this last didn't have a selection of screw-in fuses - and used the closest they had. A trap machine shouldn't need 25 Amps - dang, not even 20 Amps to run. Try to get it in compliance and see what happens - go from there...
     
  18. ezz555

    ezz555 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1,049
    Location:
    Central Minnesota
    I agree. These machines shouldn't draw that much current to operate and if they are it is a sign there is something wrong with it causing it to do so. An induction type amp meter would let you know how much the current machine is drawing.
     
  19. grntitan

    grntitan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    21,561
    Location:
    IL(The gun friendly Southern Part)
    I tend to agree. The motor may have a start up draw that spikes near 20 amps but I doubt 25 amps. Then it should drop way off. My modern 220v 1 ph Tig welder only draws 27 amps on its max 200 amp setting. Inverter technology. And I only know enough electrical to be dangerous. :)
     
  20. doublesplease

    doublesplease Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Messages:
    79
    I would install a new circuit breaker but for the wire sized as stated. Someone has a 15 amp fuse blow so they install a twenty. When that blows they install a 25. Install circuit breakers and when it trips you turn it off, determine why it trip, then turn it back on.

    That makes it a sub panel, keep the grounds and neutrals separate. They did run separate ground and neutrals from the main panel?

    Our trap house has 240 volt but the trap has a 120 motor and the other side is for lights and heater. That side is what usually trips from the heater.