Trapshooters Forum banner

Rizzini Vertex vs. Beretta 686 Silver Pigeon vs. Fabarm ELOS N2 Allsport

6844 Views 19 Replies 9 Participants Last post by  gcbailey
So these are the three I am considering...for trap and sporting clays. I'm a newbie and not very good, but I am hooked! They all have 32" barrels and extended chokes. The Rizinni has adj comb and butt plate. The Beretta 686 has no adjust-ability...other than the recoil pad size. The Fabarm has adj comb and rib. I see there are many more 686s out there than Rizinni or Fabarm. I guess there is probably a good reason for that, but any info would sure help. I've not shot any of them. I can shoot the 686 at my local sporting clays (rental), but not the other two.

Or...Should I be looking at Winchester, Weatherby, or Browning???

The K guns, Perazzi, etc...are out of my budget!!

Thank you. Need some help from the ones that know........
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

· Registered
13,538 Posts
Or...Should I be looking at Winchester, Weatherby, or Browning???
The two biggest target shotgun makers in the past have always been Beretta and Browning.

You need to shoulder both models. Close your eyes and mount the shotgun. Get the recoil pad to fit in a good spot on your shoulder. Then get your face in a good spot on the stock. Now open your eyes. You want the buy the shotgun where the beads line up as perfectly stacked as possible. You also want to consider comfort in the gun while mounted.

Most shooters will prefer one of these two brands of shotguns. Only you can decide which fits you the best. The best shotgun to shoot is the one that fits you the best out of the box.
Yes, you can install a adjustable comb and a adjustable butt plate to make either shotgun fit you. But the one that feels the most comfortable to start with? Is the one to buy. Then you can get your new shotgun fitted to you. You may need one or both of the items I suggested. Of course you may get lucky and have a perfect fit out of the box?