Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
I’m fairly new to to shotshell reloading so I started with AA hulls. They load great on my Dillon but my Mec Grabber definitely loves Remington hulls and especially the STS

·
Registered
10,552 Posts
I find both hulls reload very well. The HS AA hulls have a smaller internal capacity though. So when you get to Mec's #31 powder bushing you start running into problems closing the case. If you stay at Mec's #30 powder bushing and smaller. You can close the cases nicely. So you need a dense powder to reload them. Or you have to use slower speeds with the smaller bushings. Winchesters powders work very well. Super Target, and Super Handicap work very well in them. Of course these two powders don't always work as good in the STS hull's. So you really need to pick a hull and stick with it.

Or you can buy a different wad to use with the bulker powders in the HS AA hulls. I believe downrange makes a wad that's a bit shorter than the standard AA ClayBuster wad that will allow the use of a bulker powder. Of course you will need to use the standard length Claybuster wad for your STS loads with the same powder. Since the STS's hulls have a larger internal volume in there cases. Good Luck and follow published data on your powders website. break em all Jeff

·
Registered
2,234 Posts
Folks, that is why I see AAHS hulls in the trash at the club. Nobody is tossing STS. Actually, AAHS just need some TLC to load on some loaders (mainly MEC)
There are a couple of simple easy adjustments you can make to the MEC to keep them from bending in the middle but it does take some time to figure out the correct combination. My loaders used to do the same thing but they now work great and the same setting will load both AAHS and also STS with no loader adjustments.

·
Premium Member
BT99
75 Posts
I agree that they are both good hulls, however I have found the AA's last considerably longer for reloading.