Trapshooters Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
647 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It's time for me to restock primers. I have been using Remington hulls, wads, primers, and Alliant American Select for 1 and 1.125 loads at about 1200 fps. These seem to be working just as well as the factory STS loads for me, but then again I'm no expert. Now in my shopping for a new supply of primers it seems that Remington is drastically more expensive than Federal or Winchester. In the Mid South catalog I just got the Remingtons are almost double the cost of Federal. Couple of questions:
Is there a reason the Remingtons are so much more expenssive, ie are they better? and Does anyone have a good recipe for one ounce loads using American Select powder and Federal or Winchester primers? (All the Alliant data I can find uses Remingtons) Thank you.

·
Registered
3,169 Posts
I would say to price around. I just looked at Recob's Target Shop website.
Federal are $136.89, Remington are $172.99, Winchester are $142.99 & Nobel Sport are $109.99. All prices are per 5,000. They have other brands also & are great people to deal with. You might try Gamaliel's also, heard they had a sale on primers on this website last week. JMO but check around. Colonel

·
Registered
222 Posts
I use STS hulls, Rem TGT12S Wads, Win primers, 17.6gr Clay Dot, 1oz lead. Cost per box = $3.50
Great load for 16 yards.

·
Registered
8,383 Posts
At the Farm&Home store here, the Winchesters are $34.99/1000 and the Remingtons are $5.99/100. Guess they think the Remingtons appeal to the black powder shooters? Needless to say, the Remingtons just sit there.

·
Registered
1,790 Posts
I was a devote W209 and F209 fan for years and It was hard to teach this old dog new tricks but I switched to cheddite and noble primers and I dont have any problem with them.The cost factor made me want change...PJ

·
Registered
706 Posts
http://cacassociatesinc.com/gpage1.html