Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, I'm new to the forums although I've been reading it a lot. Great information and I hope I'm not bringing up an overdone topic. I'm relatively new at skeet and trap shooting and reloading for shotgun.
I'm looking for recipes to duplicate Rem. STS loads for 16 yds. and Nitro loads for 24 yds.
My available (on hand) components are:
Primers - Win 209 (a bunch)
Fed. 209A
Cheddite (don't want to use)
Hulls - STS & Nitro

Shot - Lawrence hard chilled 7.5 & 9

wads - claybuster fig. 8
Claybuster TGT 12
Claybuster Waa12

powder - Clay Dot (a bunch)
Promo
Highscore 700X
Clays
I'm using and old model MEC Grabber (761R). shooting a new Browning Crossover Target and Comp n Choke tubes. I still suck at trap, but I'm going for "most improved shooter". (ya gotta have a dream ... right).
Any and all advice would be appreciated in terms of loads, components, chokes, how not to suck, ect. would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

·
Registered
4,371 Posts
I shot with a guy at the club in our last shoot that had problems with the Cheddite pimers going off first time.
I think it caused him to miss a few birds thru lack of attention.
As far as how not to suck.........PRACTICE, PRACTICE, AND MORE PRACTICE

Rick in MT

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
HI Rick,
Yea my problem with Cheddites is they are larger than "American" primers... there bye screwing up your hulls for other primers. My gunsmith told me not to use them as they puncture and are corrosive to firing pins and other internals.
They are for sale!
I'm going to practice. practice and practice tonight.
K.T.

·
Registered
1,722 Posts
You have some very nice components that will get you close to duplicating factory Remington trap loads.