Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to autoloaders and recently purchased a used 1100. I'm planning on cleaning it this weekend and wondered how to properly perform a function check once it is put back together.

·
Registered
864 Posts
Best suggestion i have would becto watch videos available on youtube. 1100 s ar pretty straightforward[/QUOTE My experience and that of my 2 sons ( we shoot 5 different 1100s, 3 of which are LT-20s) is to really give the gun a good cleaning depending on the shotshell round count. We don't shoot the 1100s on clays but hunt with them in the west and they can get pretty gunky in the receiver just by carrying them in the dusty field. Follow the on-line disassembly inst's. I would would remove the forearm and stock. Remove the entire trigger group, barrel, rings and bolt. Then remove the action ring with its rails that the bolt fits onto and remove the magazine tube internals. All that is left is the receiver. Clean by soaking and scrubbing of all crevices in a parts cleaner. Then take it to a tub and wash and rinse with hot soapy water, rinse with hot water and place on a ironing board and set up a hot air dryer directly on the parts to dry and get good and hot. Then properly lube and reassemble. Should be good for 1 yr. of clay target shooting or every 2 two yrs. of hunting.

·
Registered
4 Posts
+1 for Huntings reply. Also check out Brownells' videos. They have a series on the 1100/11-87 which are very good. Also when knocking out the trigger assembly pins drive them towards the ejection port. Reinsert towards the port as well;.

·
Registered
4 Posts
I am new to autoloaders and recently purchased a used 1100. I'm planning on cleaning it this weekend and wondered how to properly perform a function check once it is put back together

Welcome to autoloaders...Love my Rem 1100..this gun keeps me in the game with minimal recoil.