Trapshooters Forum banner

Reloading help

5913 39
I’m new to this. And would like advice. Don’t want to get hurt while trying to have fun busting clays during the times we live in.

I have a mix of about 1000 Hulls. Remington nitro, sts and some Winchester aa. What are the components I need to reload these hulls? Wanting to make half in 1145 and half in 1250 both 1 1/8 oz.

Thank you in advance, happy shooting and God bless you all
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

· Premium Member
8,259 Posts
I’m new to this. And would like advice. Don’t want to get hurt while trying to have fun busting clays during the times we live in.

I have a mix of about 1000 Hulls. Remington nitro, sts and some Winchester aa. What are the components I need to reload these hulls? Wanting to make half in 1145 and half in 1250 both 1 1/8 oz.

Thank you in advance, happy shooting and God bless you all
So lets do this. Separate your hulls into three groups of similarities.

STS and Nitros are what your going to load. One will be your 1145 she'll and the other your 1250 shell. Sell or trade AA's. Keeping it simple for you.

Now what can you buy for powder and primers or have you already acquired one or the other or possibly both? If you haven't, you may not be reloading and your post and desire irrelevant.

Powders I would like at if only using one-Green Dot, American Select, International, WSH and powders of this burn rate.

Now simply look up recipes for your desired velocity for powder acquired and match the appropriate wad and primer.

Seriously, you need to see what's available if any in powder before you concern yourself further.

· Registered
2,532 Posts
Lots of good suggestions above. You can get recipes from the powder websites, I would start with what you are looking for, 1145 fps. There are a few machines out there, but Dillon Precision website has some good advice and videos even if you don't buy their machine. MEC is a great starter press, look at their websites and you tube. Be SAFE and good luck