Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Vendor
19,783 Posts
Chovyman. Teh vast majority of Release shooters acclimate to whatever release they try and use. That said a few of us never regain our prior target breaking ability that we had with pull. So, think about ti a while before you switch. Those that have flinch issues and correct with the release are fortunate.

·
Registered
5,696 Posts
As a very broad and general recommendation, if you're under 50 stay with a pull trigger until you start having problems. If you're over 60, you might as well start with a release trigger, you're probably going to need it in the near future.

·
Registered
11,024 Posts
When I started shooting trap the first thing I noticed was that most shotguns
had very bad pull triggers, when compared to the triggers on target rifles. I fine tuned
the trigger on my shotgun, got rid of the creep and gave it a light consistent weight
of pull. After that no problems. HMB

·
Banned
4,738 Posts
Stick with the pull. Have a qualified trigger man give it a tune up. Learn what is causing you to even consider going with a RT. If the main reason is clubhouse advice, stop listening to it and find yourself someone that will help you with your bad habits. Shoot lighter loads or you will end up with a RT and the same problems from before.

·
Registered
907 Posts