Trapshooters Forum banner

Red Dot loads for doubles

5224 Views 42 Replies 25 Participants Last post by  TomBro
Hello I am back in trapshooting and back in reloading, however i am in need of some reloading data. I have a tried and true singles load but doubles is new to me as I've only shot 300 rounds of them. So I use 18 grains of red dot, tgt-12 1 oz wad, and sts hull for singles, for doubles i would like to use the same powder just not sure what the charge should be.

thank you in advance!!!
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

· Premium Member
603 Posts
you didn't mention some important details like what size shot you are using or which primer. But you have to decide what aspects of the load you want to vary. I am no doubles expert but I believe a lot of guys use a different load for the second shot than the first. So you have to decide if you want to do that or use the same load for both shots. If you want to use a different load for the second shot, the second shot is further away so I would think you might want to vary one or more of the following: 7.5 shot if using something smaller for first shot, more velocity, 1 1/8 load.
I looked up Red Dot load data on the Alliant website. You should do the same. See if this link works

Looks like 18gr gives you about 1200FPS. They have loads with 19gr for 1250, or even 21gr for 1310fps.
If you went to 1 1/8, 19gr gives you 1200FPS. Like other powders on the fast burning side, I don't see any 1 1/8 loads more than 1200fps.

Right or wrong, I use WSH loaded for 1250fps for handicap or second shot doubles. Probably many would consider than "overkill" and they may well be right.

· Registered
3,054 Posts
I would back off a grain for the first shot in doubles. Unless you want to keep it simple, using the same load for both.
For the 2nd shot I like 1 1/8 oz of 7 1/2 doing 1200 f/s, since I tend to shoot a little slow.

Rhodesengr.