Trapshooters Forum banner

Red Dot - At long last.

3830 Views 22 Replies 16 Participants Last post by  Pull & Mark
I have been reloading for 30 years and never used Red Dot. 700x, Clays, International Clays and a few other but never Red Dot. I was able to secure a 4lb jug so here goes.
Question on how much powder to use to get a "Clean Shooting Load". This is my one ounce GP shell.
Using Rem hulls, W209, and a TGT wad. I'm not concerned with the speed 1200 is a target but 1150 is fine and so is 1225.
Is 17 gr enough to burn clean?

Thanks in advance.

I may also try some Federal GM hulls also, but they use more powder.
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

· Registered
520 Posts
Right out of Alliant Powder Reloaders Guide. Remington hull, Win 209 primer, Rem R12L wad, 1 oz. shot, 20.0 grs Red Dot, 10100 psi.
With Federal Gold Metal plastic there is no 1 oz. load listed with Red Dot and a Win 209 primer but with a Fed 209A primer, a 12SO Fed wad and 18.0 grs of Red Dot will yield 1200 fps and 8300 psi. Tom

· Registered
547 Posts
I used to use a lot of Red Dot, a LONG time ago

For the last 30 years or more, none. But if someone were to gift a keg to me in today's situation I'd take it. Kicking and screaming of course. But I'd try to swap it for a keg of Clays first.

· Premium Member
8,307 Posts
I have been reloading for 30 years and never used Red Dot. 700x, Clays, International Clays and a few other but never Red Dot. I was able to secure a 4lb jug so here goes.
Question on how much powder to use to get a "Clean Shooting Load". This is my one ounce GP shell.
Using Rem hulls, W209, and a TGT wad. I'm not concerned with the speed 1200 is a target but 1150 is fine and so is 1225.
Is 17 gr enough to burn clean?

Thanks in advance.

I may also try some Federal GM hulls also, but they use more powder.
I use that load quite often in gun clubs for first shot on doubles. It burns clean for me if that matters for you.

· Premium Member
8,307 Posts