Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just picked up a shot maker for an amazing price. Now I’m wondering how to make shot. Wondering if anyone has a recipe. I’ve heard 3% antimony and 1% tin with the remaining 96% pure lead. Anyone have a recipe if I wanted to use wheel weights? Or a trick I should know? All suggestions are helpful.

·
Registered
58 Posts
If ya got wheel weights just run them! Cleaned up first though. I have run a mix of 70% wheel weights and 30% straight lead with good results also.

·
Registered
1,027 Posts
You have just begun an incredible journey...I have been making shot since 1990.
Way to many things to cover in a post....but it will be a lot of trial and error until you get a feel for your equipment, oil, heat control etc.
My one word of advice...Make sure you do not use any wheel weights that contain Zinc !!!!

Have fun,
Wadcrusher

·
Registered
55 Posts
I too have just started. Wheel weights work perfect for making shot. I have also taken 75 lbs of reclaimed range lead and 10 lbs of Linotype. That gives you nearly the same formula as wheelweight. That worked perfectly for me. I drop my shot into fabric softener. Two things you really need to pay attention to is only drop the lead 1/4" before hitting coolant and don't fill your shotmaker too much. You will get oversized shot for a while. also make sure you keep moving your shot away from the drop zone so it doesn't cake up. Have fun, I know I do!

·
Registered
2,012 Posts