Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
301 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Went to pick up a long awaited gun at an independent FFL this SAT, one I’ve used several times before (I’m a South Carolina resident). I was surprised when he came back to tell me a “Delay” finding had been issued. This has never happened to me after multiple gun purchases. We reviewed my application and quickly determined he had given them an inaccurate social security number (by his own admission he reversed two numbers). He quickly called back NICS, explained the situation to someone different, and was transferred to a line that never answered so no resolution & I ultimately went home empty handed.
He advised me we’d need to wait to see if NICS would call him back (presumably with a denial due to the SS# mismatch) or if there was no reply by them this week to the Delay there’s a provision that he could transfer the gun or we’d start the process over (but this next SAT). Based on my research it appears this could actually happen THU following a 3 business day wait period (the Brady law??).
Any FFLs or recent buyers that could explain their experiences or understanding of these situations? I realize I should just be patient and see what transpires this week but mostly curious how this plays out or if there’s something that actually could be done in the meantime to expedite the process.
It’s my understanding a concealed weapon permit avoids potential issues like this for future purchases & streamlines the process. Correct?

·
Registered
4,046 Posts
I had the same problem with the last two guns I bought within the last 6 months. Delayed both times for 3 and 5 days.
Large dealer that I had bought many guns from. They said perhaps it's your somewhat common name. I told them it's the same name I've always used and never been delayed until these last two.

·
Registered
52 Posts