Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8,217 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I personally have Makita drill and impact driver with the bigger 18v li-on 3 ah batteries and my son has the DeWalt 5 tool set with the 18 XRP li-on 2.4 ah batteries. He uses his at work while mine is a home use but either is good. I like the bigger 3 ah batteries as they last longer between charges.

I would stay with a name brand like Makita, DeWalt, Porter Cable, Milwaukee and the like. Craftsman is OK but they change manufactures so batteries might be a problem later down the line although I found batteries for a older 12v Bosh I have.

·
Registered
1,760 Posts
My son is a carpenter by trade, so uses and sees used just about all the cordless tools available. He bought me a Makita set for fathers day. The set consists of a drill with adjustable clutch on the chuck, adjustable for two speeds, an impact drill, charger with two batteries, all in a nice hard canvas case. He must have got a smoking deal on it, or he was feeling really generous towards the old man, because I saw the drill alone for sale, and was horrified at the price.

He told me that you had to be VERY aware of the origin of the tools, because the manufacturers seem to have two nearly identical models of most cordless tools, for widely varying prices. Generally, the cheaper one is made in the Orient, of lightweight materials, and won't stand up to hard continuous use. It may be fine for the home handyman, who uses it occasionally, but not for a tradesman. If you don't know tools well, get a carpenter who does to go with you when you go shopping. Good luck.

·
Registered
4,295 Posts
I have three sets of the Makita. Lith batteries. I have owned the one set for over 5 years now. Still going strong, and as a contractor, I use them almost daily.

Now, that being said, who knows what the latest stuff is like.

Rick in MT

·
Vendor
19,392 Posts