Trapshooters Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m thinking about rebluing an MX 8 receiver. I’m not a professional by any stretch of the imagination however I have done some rebluing in the past and it turned out pretty well. By Question is this. Will the resale value be less because I did the work instead of having a professional do the work?Assuming I do a good job.

Thanks
Rex

· Registered
6,584 Posts
I’m thinking about rebluing an MX 8 receiver. I’m not a professional by any stretch of the imagination however I have done some rebluing in the past and it turned out pretty well. By Question is this. Will the resale value be less because I did the work instead of having a professional do the work?Assuming I do a good job.

Thanks
Rex
When I hear or read "do the bluing myself, " I see cold bluing being used.
Why use a twenty dollar product on a $3,000 dollar part?
The factory bluing using a hot bath to help the steel itself make the finish.
A cold blue makes a reaction that of itself that either will look like painted on or etches the finish into the surface. It is very difficult almost impossible to get an even black finish.

Even if you would end up paying $300 for a rebluing job you end up with the finish that the factory used.

But I always dis cold blue products.

On the other hand take you polishing skills to their limit on a hardware store steel part and then cold blue that. Then decide if you want to do your action.

Al

· Registered
36,813 Posts
Reblue it yourself while you shoot it, it protects the steel. When you are off season is a good time to get it done by a professional. As far as gun value, trap guns are made to be used, not collected. Reblued guns may lose value to a collector, but collectors are collecting Colt SAA, and Winchesters made in the the 19th century.

Reactions: I’m Not Woke

· Registered
6,584 Posts