Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
1,038 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Kinda off topic for Trap, but...

I was invited, along with a number of other people, for a fun day of shooting at a local range, not the one I usually frequent.

I arrived after some other folks who were downrange setting up targets. I carried my rifle (cased, chamber flag in place) from my car to an area near the shooting benches to put in the rack.

Some people were extremely upset and said I was "handling a gun while people are downrange". I guess they were right, but I wasn't even thinking that I was "handling a gun".

I've been shooting for over 50 years and it was hard to accept that people considered me unsafe.

I'm thinking that they over reacted and maybe I am as well, by writing this.

Comments???

cap

·
Registered
1,206 Posts
Normally carrying a cased gun is not considered handling. If you removed it from the case that is another matter entirely and is normally a violation. All that being said each range will have their own rules. I have often seen hunters come to a trap range and load multiple shells in their gun and be confronted with hostility when they thought they were perfectly safe. All of us need to remember that a civil and polite explanation of the rules is the best way to obtain compliance.

·
Registered
3,811 Posts
Make a note NOT to go back!

·
Registered
14,903 Posts
Cap, think I would have asked them how they knew there was a gun in the case. Probably a bunch of ole geezers that wanted to fuss about something, and you just happened along.

GneJ

·
Registered
534 Posts
Most rifle ranges have similar rules about anyone handling a gun with people down range. You could have set the case down and waited for the all clear. Would you want anyone fooling with their gun behind you? Just added safety.

·
Registered
12,457 Posts
"I carried my rifle (cased, chamber flag in place) from my car to an area near the shooting benches to put in the rack."