Trapshooters Forum banner

Ramshot powder

5466 Views 20 Replies 10 Participants Last post by  7albert
Anyone here use Ramshot powder? Thanks, Todd
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

· Registered
99 Posts
I’ve used many 4 pound jugs of Ramshot Silhouette for my 9mm major USPSA open gun but I assume you’re interested in shotgun and I have no experience with their only shotgun powder. Ramshot customer service was good when they were owned by Western but now I see they’re owned by Hogdons so load data should be easy to get.

· Premium Member
8,113 Posts
The only Ramshot shotgun shell powder that has been available in recent memory is Competition. I have not seen it in some time, although the Western Powder data guide has ample data for it. I have never used it but if I were to happen onto a keg, I likely would buy it.

· Registered
65 Posts
Ramshot Competition in a Remington hull, Cheddite primer, Claybuster clone 7/8 ounce. 1200-1250 fps for the daughters skeet and trap shellls. 1350 fps for the bunker shells. She said that she liked the way they felt. And really likes the less “leftover “ powder in the barrels.

· Registered
99 Posts
Hello is it possible to have some recipes with these powders? Sincerely
If you’re asking about shotgun loads, flashmax pointed you in the right direction.

lf you’re interested in 9mm major pistol load, I’m not allowed to talk about it😎
When I had my pistol built, the gunsmith JPL Precision gave me a recipe and a baggy of samples and advised me to buy a Dillon 1050 (which I did) because it’s a compressed load. I don’t shoot pistol competition any more but still shoot that gun because it’s fun.

For some reason I called Ramshot many years ago and when I mentioned 9mm major, their ballistics guy politely said I’m sorry I’m not allowed to talk about it and hung up.

· Registered
50 Posts