Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm fairly new to this sport of trap, would like some input on this subject. I've shot mainly pull but seem to adapt fine to release after a few boxes of ammo. thoughts?

·
Premium Member
1,320 Posts
Did you have a problem with using a pull trigger being fairly new to the sport?

Simple answer. Use what works!

·
Registered
11,024 Posts
It is important to have a good pull trigger. A trigger with a consistent weight
of pull and no creep. If you have a good pull trigger, use it. HMB

·
Registered
385 Posts
My opinion, stay with the pull trigger until you need a release. Fewer moving parts to keep tuned, less to think about when shooting. Everything is just less complicated. That being said, if/when you need a release, don't hesitate to switch. At about 58 years of age I started flinching 3 or more times per trap. My "ace in the hole" that kept me in the game is a release trigger. I'm 62 now and shot the best score of my life last weekend.

·
Vendor
19,215 Posts
I shot pull successfully (6 yards in 2 years, 3000 hcp targets) and Frank Little saw me crossfire and insisted I switch to release. I did and never regained my hand/eye/trigger timing. I've shot some reasonable scores with release, but after all these years trigger coordination is still a struggle. If 2018 does not yield satisfaction, I'll return to pull till they dump dirt on me.

·
Premium Member
3,249 Posts
I shot pull successfully (6 yards in 2 years, 3000 hcp targets) and Frank Little saw me crossfire and insisted I switch to release. I did and never regained my hand/eye/trigger timing. I've shot some reasonable scores with release, but after all these years trigger coordination is still a struggle. If 2018 does not yield satisfaction, I'll return to pull till they dump dirt on me.