Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to reloading. I have MEC JR and all necessary supplies. I have a keg of 700x based on what my peers have told me to buy. I’ve read many threads on here about powder and I am sorry if this is redundant. As someone new to this, I don’t know what I like or have last experience to draw from.

When I started to look at different recipes for my AA hulls, I couldn’t help but try to understand the differences in all the available powders. I think I confused myself more than I did to help myself. My question is: if you are buying a powder why are you buying it? Cleaner burn? Good patterns? Why do you use what you use?

If someone were to ask me what I was reloading currently and ask me why do I use that; I wouldn’t have an answer for them.

·
Premium Member
533 Posts
clean burn comes from higher pressures. good patterns comes from a magnitude of things. look for what you want. as in what shot weight, primers available, wads, and most important fps you want to run. for me i like 1200 fps with pressures above 10000 psi. i know many guys using 700x and thats all they use. once you get what you want load some shells and go to the pattern board. i always shoot my IM and FULL chokes. for some reason different loads come out differently. if you like what you see and feel on the shoulder shoot a round with them. how did they break the target? long story short i like higher pressures with good patterns. if i see good patterns on paper i can find something else to blame on that "lost target"

·
Premium Member
533 Posts