Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All. First post. I have read and learned a lot from this forum. Thank you.

I am a lefty and shoot a customized 1100. I have been reading and trying to get better at trap and the more I read the more I understand that I need a new gun. I play all the games.

I am wondering if you get a combo and set the single barrel up for trap with lets say a 3-4" high POI at 40yd will the double barrel also shoot at a similar POI. I am pretty sure that it does as well and a trap gun should only be used as a singles or doubles but not Skeet or Sporting Clays once set up.

It would be nice to be able to set up a single barrel for trap at 100% above line of sight and then be able to have the O/U at a 50/50 for use on skeet and SC. Is there anything like that or a way to do that? I don't think that the thrower at my club can throw doubles, but I'm pretty new to trap and dont know for sure.

We get a small bonus at work in March and my plan is to add a trap gun to the safe. I am an FFL but mostly deal in NFA items on nights at weekends. The stores I deal with have a minimal selection of trap guns. I am not opposed to buying used. What would yall look at for a lefty? Wouldn't want to put more than $2500 in a gun. Thought about the BT-99 adjustable comb or even the TT-15. Not sure that I need an O/U b/c Im not sure that I will ever shoot doubles. Other gun ideas?

Thanks.
Tim

·
Registered
6,174 Posts
You are really going to need a gun with an adjustable rib and probably a comb. Money wise probably the TT15 unless you get lucky on another combo.

·
Registered
4,115 Posts
If you play all the games you need at least an O/U. My advice to you would be to consider a gun in your price range that is set up for Sporting or International Trap. It will be usable for everything.