Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,073 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Are there a lot of folks out there using PFS in dobles with success....ands are you locking them out?
If you are locking them out how are you doing it?
thanx
Mike

·
Registered
3,158 Posts
i have mine set up on the tight side only 6 turns out from being bottomed, i would have no problems using it that way for doubles, i might actually come out another turn or so

·
Registered
535 Posts
I just started shooting doubles a few months ago. The first couple of times the rebounding really bothered me moving to the second shot but lately I don't even notice it. I considered the lock-out bar but it won't work with the cross-brace in place.

·
Registered
81 Posts
I have used PFS stocks for about 20 years and have tried different settings for doubles that ranged from soft (little or no muzzle rise, but lots of gun movement) to fully locked-up. Lock-up was achieved by running the compression nut in the spring-strut fully in or, alternately, by placing a short length of tygon tubing on the main spring-strut between the mounting bracket and the end of the strut. Either of the locking methods eliminated the gun rebound or length-of-pull change that comes that comes between shots from the pulling the gun tightly to the shoulder. The tygon insert allowed the gun to be locked for doubles when installed and to be set soft enough to take the sting our of high velocity handicap shells when removed. In the past two years, however, the firm setting as suggested by SteveS1965 has been used along with a 1 in. thick recoil pad. Backing off 6-8 turns from fully compressed seems to eliminate the rebound between shots while still attenuating recoil enough for all events and preventing stock collapse.

Experiment and see what works best for you,
Pat

·
Premium Member
4,239 Posts
I have seen them locked out by turning a block over or switching ends.
I dont remember how but it can be done.