Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,
I'm very new to trap shooting (and shotgun shooting in general) but believe I am hooked already. When patterning my shotgun would it be more beneficial to shoot at 13 yards (there is no bench at this distance at my club) or would it be better to pattern at 30-40 yards (I could shoot with the gun mounted and /or from a bench at this distance). Thank you.

·
Premium Member
1,896 Posts
What seems to work best for me is to use full choke at short yardage (13-15) to assess POI. I also use 35 yards to confirm load and pattern performance and that I am pointing properly.

·
Registered
11,024 Posts
If you are shooting a gun with an unsingle barrel, the elevation of your POI will be different at
13 and 40 yards. HMB

·
Premium Member
4,275 Posts
here is a great idea i came up with. I have an old microphone extendable stand. The kind singers use. I made a cross bar that screws on the top and covered it with one of those foam pieces that insulate pipes. Got that at home depot. You shoulder the gun and aim at the enter of the pattern board and bring the tand to just under the barrel and use it as a rest. It provides a bit of repeatability for shooting patterns as you rest the front of the gun while shooting. This method allows for proper stance of the shooter and not waving the gun around. motordoc

·
Banned
9,042 Posts