Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
275 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am pretty new at this, been shooting about 6 months. My question today is what does the ideal pattern really look like in trap. What I mean is when you pattern your shotgun, do you want the pattern to be like center point of aim but high, to the left of point of aim but high or right of point of aim but high. Right now I am set up about 80/20 center. I know for some this is basic but I want some impute..thanks

·
Registered
441 Posts
To boil it down to the bare basics, here's my opinion:

Horizontal (left/right) POI: this must be dead-on, or close enough to dead-on to not be the cause of missed targets. I don't know of any shooter who would intentionally choose (or perform well) with a Horizontal POI that's any significant amount off-center.

Vertical POI is always the individual shooter's choice. Specifically for trapshooting, simply read the vast number of different Vertical POI opinions right here on trapshooters.com. Some folks successfully use a flat (50/50) POI at Trap . . . others successfully use a Vertical POI that's just a little bit high . . . others use a POI that's medium high (like 70/30, or your 80/20), while some shooters successfully use a Vertical POI that's way, way high. For Vertical POI, every shooter must experiment to determine what personally works best for them. Not to mention that some shooters configure their gun to yield a certain Vertical POI for 16-yard targets, and then change to a different POI for Handicap targets. That said, I'd bet that 90% of Trapshooters use a POI in the range of 3-inches high (60/40) to 12-inches high (90/10).

50/50 is the lowest sensible POI with any shotgun for any activity. Any shotgun with a Vertical POI lower than 50/50 is mechanically defective, and not much use for any type of shooting.

·
Registered
83 Posts
Welcome to a sport that you will hopefully enjoy for many years...