Trapshooters Forum banner

P/w 800 plus Vs Spolar. Advice needed

5407 Views 64 Replies 34 Participants Last post by  Nebs
I have two boys that shoot SCTP/AIM singles, doubles and caps. They shoot about 20K or more rounds a year between the two to them. If they don't shoot into college I still have at least eight years with one kid shooting. Currently I am loading on a RCBS Grand but would like a reloader with hydraulic or electric drive.

If I'm reading the website correctly I can buy a Ponsness/Warren 800 plus with electric drive for $1900. The Spolar Gold with hydraulic drive is $4645.

I have never loaded on either machine but it seems that the better buy would be the P/W loader.

Is the Spolar worth the extra $2745?

Thanks
1 - 20 of 65 Posts

· Registered
2,539 Posts
I have no experience with the Spolar, but I do have a PW800+. Several years ago, I upgraded from a MEC9000 because I was getting older and I had to use 2 hands to pull the handle. The 800+ had a definite learning curve, but I got the bugs worked out and I have the shell feeder and the electric automate. I know the prices for PW have gone up and they are several months backordered. I have had no problems with the 800+ machine, but I load Federal Top Guns 99% of the time and found the machine works better if I run the hulls through the MEC Supersizer. There have been several machines both Spolar and PW for sale that you cloud look for also.

· Premium Member
4,845 Posts