Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
1,928 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I purchased a beretta 682 barrel with mobile choke that has been backbored to .740 it only came with one (.022 constriction ) choke tube who would you use to make a couple for it? Thx Jerry

·
Vendor
7,098 Posts
i started shooting comp n chokes-- man do they smoke rocks and pattern very well--
generally on backbore barrels- it makes chokes one size tighter

·
Registered
1,959 Posts
Jerry, if you deal with Briley, speak with their choke tube guru and specify that you have a specific bore size and want Mobil type choke tubes to fit that barrel/bore size.

Pat

·
Registered
564 Posts
Pat[/QUOTE]
Jerry, if you deal with Briley, speak with their choke tube guru and specify that you have a specific bore size and want Mobil type choke tubes to fit that barrel/bore size.

Pat
Who is the choke tube guru at Briley? Lester

·
Registered
589 Posts
Jerry.
The first thing that I would do is to check your barrels with a bore gauge to give you the exact internal diameter bore sizes along the whole of the ID of your barrels. It is usual that the back boring of barrels do not extend into the "ORIGINAL" choke tube section of the barrels. Is the only choke tube that you have "a original unmolested Beretta choke tube" with only the mouth of the choke tubes tapered entrance diameter being enlarged to be slightly larger than the back bored barrels diameters. You might not need "completely new custom choke tubes" if you only need "choke tube mouth entrance work undertaken" on standard original sized replacement tubes. Have a diagram drawn of your barrels inside diameters from forcing cones up to a "few thou" before the choke tubes mouth seating faces
I will measure the mouth of a new original mobil choke tube and get back to you. It is precision work but not rocket science.
Thanks
Phil

·
Registered
4,984 Posts