Trapshooters Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
190 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an opportunity to purchase a model 101 black diamond, anyone out there with experience on the gun. Dependable? godd shooter etc. Value if in good to excellent condition. Has ported barrel and chokes??

·
Registered
216 Posts
I would shoot it before purchasing...They have a rep of having uncomfortable recoil. One of my shooting buddy's had one years ago and I can attest it kicked like a mule

·
Banned
8,492 Posts
I have been shooting one for 5 yrs now and never had a problem with recoil. It has been a good shooter for me. Make the gun fit you. Don't expect an off the shelf gun to fit like a glove. Bill

·
Registered
508 Posts
I have two of them,when it gets to be some serious shooting the Pgun gets put away and out comes the Diamond Grade.I lenthend the forcing cone and magna ported the barrel.

·
Premium Member
10,532 Posts
Unpleasant recoil is code for "kicks the crap out of you". The later 101 Classic Doubles guns are overbored and a pleasure to shoot.

·
Registered
245 Posts
My 101 has the same felt recoil as any of my other 12 gauge break-open guns. I adjusted the LOP and the comb to my style of shooting, and the recoil is no worse than any of my other guns. IF IT DON'T FIT, IT'S GONNA KICK.

Jack

·
Registered
1,173 Posts
I bought a Winchester 101 Trap in 1969. Shot the gun for ten years. It performed very well, I never had a misfunction of any kind, and I never felt the recoil was any different from Browning Broadway guns, or Model 12s that I also shot. I am not sure where that recoil scare got started, but I bet if you compare the recoil of a 101 over/under to a BT-99, the 99 would kick worse, and look how many of those are being shot out there without complaint!