Trapshooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm sure you guys have answered this over a thousand times on here. But it turns out I'm not good at finding things through searches. Just wondering what hulls you consider to be the best for reloading and why. Thanks for your help. Nick A.

·
Registered
1,460 Posts
1.Remingtons
2.Federals
3.Winchesters

They all load,just seems with MY Mec,Rems need less adjustment and best(consistency)spelling?.

Doug H. (Pa.)

·
Registered
'07 Kolar Max TA 3bbl set, Jeff Mainland fitted
2,725 Posts
Remington Nitro 27 & STS. For a reason I can't explain, the Nitro seems to tolerate more reloadings. Perhaps it's because I use them for the 1oz loads for 1st shot in doubles..

Best.... mike

PS: don't use Rem primers. . for me Win 209 works best.

·
Supporting Vendor
9,954 Posts
Remington's. I'm afraid of Winchester AA's ever since I witnessed a base wad lodging in my Buddy's barrel.

·
Banned
9,042 Posts
STS's are slick as butter in any loader. Been loading them since they came out, and were thrown in the garbage. Back then everyone wanted AA's and Gold Medals. Especially if you re-size the brass first.

·
Registered
3,622 Posts
I'm with Tron on this one, had the same experience. Base wad stuck in shooting pardners bbl, shot sounded funny\odd, had to drive it out backwards with a rod.

That's the only one I've ever seen and he still loads a few AAs. Ross Puls

·
Banned
7,659 Posts
I too, Like Ross & Tron have seen a base wad migrate from a Winchester AA. Reload Remingtons & federals--avoid reloading anything with a base wad

Phil Berkowitz

·
Registered
8,332 Posts
1. STS

2. Nitro27

3. Old one-piece AA

4. ?

No two-piece base wad to snag the overpowder cup. Excellent lifespan. Easily IDed. Competitively priced when empty. Aren't picky about the primer they use. Wads interchange between brands/models.

Bob Falfa

·
Registered
4,937 Posts